Skip to main content

The Academy

The National Academy of Sports (NAS) was created by virtue of Republic Act 11470 which was signed by former President Rodrigo Roa Duterte on June 09, 2020. The NAS System is governed by a board of Trustees, which is composed of the Department of Education Secretary as the Chairperson, the Chairperson of the Philippine Sports Commission as Vice Chairperson, and the following members: (a) the Executive Director of the NAS System; (b) the President of the Philippine Olympic Committee; (c) the Chairperson of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED); and (d) two (2) representatives from the private sector of known expertise in the field of sports, education or both, elected by the members of the board.

NAS Board of Trustees


Vice President Sara Z. Duterte

Department of Education Secretary

Vice Chairperson

Richard E. Bachman

Philippine Sports Commission

Member of the Board

Abraham N. Tolentino

Philippine Olympic Committee President

Member of the Board

J. Prospero E. De Vera III

Commission on Higher Education Chairperson

Member of the Board

John Patrick C. Gregorio

Private Sector Representative

Member of the Board

Prof. Josephine Joy B. Reyes

National Academy of Sports Executive Director

Member of the Board

Cynthia L. Tiu

Private Sector Representative

Skip to content